Life Sucks and then You Die: What does it all mean?

Ed Chunski
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readNov 30, 2023

--

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

“Life has to be given a meaning because of the obvious fact that it has no meaning.” — Henry Miller

“The reason I talk to myself is because I’m the only one whose answers I accept.” — George Carlin

The Meaning of Life, someone recently announced, is currently about five years old with good behaviour. That, however, is not the answer we seek in times of introspection when our soul-searching attempts to uncover some deeper meaning to our minuscule existence. Or, in the present circumstance, when I try to find something to write about.

People who believe in a god have the advantage here, I suppose. If there is some kind of grand plan by the Almighty, one can very well forget all this agency nonsense and put one’s faith in the Creator. But if you’re like me, without any particular sense of religious affiliation, indeed one without any faith in any religion’s veracity, you’re on your own. Holding the bag, as it were. What then?

Philosophers have been contemplating this for aeons, and I don’t pretend to have the kind of mental firepower to throw myself into the arena. It doesn’t mean I don’t wonder what this all means, though. What am I doing here? What is this all about? What am I to do with the fact that I am here?

Someone very close to me says we’re here so that we can help others. That sounds pretty grandiose to me. I don’t mind helping others, not at all. But that’s the reason for my existence? I’m certainly no saint, just some selfish bastard out for a good time. I can’t see myself making it my life’s mission to help others. Does that make me a baddie?

Like I said, I think it’s grand to help someone in need, especially when it’s absolutely within my ability to do so. I don’t go out of my way to help someone, mind. Unless it’s some kind of life and death scenario. You know, a guy so absorbed with his mobile phone he’s about to step into traffic, that sort of thing. Actually, in a situation like that, I’m not sure I’d really pull him back. But that’s another story.

If you cancel me now, because I’m such a dick, I can understand that. I must say I’m just being honest here. Let me be clear: I DO NOT GO OUT OF MY WAY TO HELP PEOPLE. Except, as I said, in emergencies. Judge me as you please.

In fact, I think most who profess to be helpful saints do so out of very selfish reasons. It makes them feel good about themselves. Indeed, it makes them feel superior, even. Especially if no one actually asked them for help. Why do I think they need help? Because I know better? Because I AM better?

Now, I also don’t think life is about simply doing whatever I please, even if it’s at someone else’s expense. That’s just neo-liberalism gone bananas if you ask me. As long as it’s not illegal, do whatever you want to enrich yourself. That can’t be right. Not from where I’m sitting. Sure, I want to have fun, to do the things I want to do, but I also think there’s something called community. To me, it’s fine to do whatever, as long as it doesn’t hurt others. And if someone interferes with that, they should just mind their own business. Isn’t that fair?

I’ve lived long enough to realize that we don’t always get our way. Perhaps, we shouldn’t always get our way. If nothing else, there’s the common good to consider. And though I’m no medical doctor, I do believe we should first do no harm (if only all medical doctors would do likewise).

We should do what gives us pleasure, so long as it doesn’t harm others. We should also be honest about it. If I derive immense pleasure by bending over backwards to help others, I’ should just admit it and move on. Yes, I am helping you, but it’s because I really really really like it. What’s wrong with being selfish, if it doesn’t hurt anyone? Why should my own self-interest always take a backseat?

But that opens up another question. What is “harm”? What do I mean by not hurting others? Physical and emotional harm, perhaps? But how can I be sure my actions won’t result in that? Think tiger moms who dictate everything, ostensibly for the benefit of the child. Is it possible that tiger mum can be traumatic for the child? I dare say it can very well lead to emotional (and even physical) harm.

That’s why I think my solution is better. If I don’t interfere, even if I hadn’t helped someone, I didn’t leave them worse off than before. If they want my help, they can let me know. After all, they are every bit a human being whose decisions and choices I should respect.

The meaning of life, then, to me, is to enjoy life, not to interfere with others’ enjoyment of life while making sure I don’t make things worse for others. And if now and then I am able to help someone have a better lived experience, all the better. If all seven billion of us can truthfully say, at the end of our journey, that we’ve left the world a little bit better than when we found it, the world would be a much happier place.

“I don’t believe in an afterlife, but I am bringing an extra change of underwear.” — Woody Allen

--

--