Linear Versus Iteration, Or The Battle Between Output And Value Creation Velocities

Are You Features-Driven Or Value-Driven? Is Your Life A Project Or A Product?

Ahmadou DIALLO ✪
ILLUMINATION

--

As a kid, I always wanted to learn the magic of flying. Not only that, I wanted to know the machinery behind the magic.

So, I joined Airbus to try to get an overview of the whole process.

And I was pretty surprised when I got behind the scenes.

The process of building aircraft today, be it at Airbus, Boeing, or any other aircraft manufacturer, is not different from how many of us live our lives.

We can summarize the required steps with one hand.

I let it sink in.

That big beautiful bird built only in 5 steps?

A. The Linear Prison Of Our “To-Do Lists”

We all have been there, at work or home.

We buy a board and strike three columns: “To Do,” “Doing,” and “Done.”

We take some Post-its, preferably the yellow ones, and start doing.

When building aircraft, we have more post-its. Yet the workflow is quite similar to a “To-Do List.”

--

--

Ahmadou DIALLO ✪
ILLUMINATION

🏆 Top Medium Writer in Ideas. I am a professional storyteller who can help you share your stories. Find out more here: https://www.madception.com