Links in the Chain

A short story about Love and Life as time progresses

Manu Chatterjee
ILLUMINATION

--

Sands of Time. photo courtesy Şahin Sezer Dinçer on Unsplash

When Max was born, Pa delighted in every moment. A bundle of joy. A first word. A first step. Memories that were etched in Pa’s heart. Before long, Max was a toddler, hiding peanuts behind his back with one hand so he could ask for more with the other. “More Pa!” he said.

Pa smiled at Max’s cleverness. “Sure, Max,” he said.

Then Max became a young boy. “Look how fast I can run!” Max said. His father delighted in his speed.

But Max got older. In a short time, he was a teenager.

“Look, Pa!” Max said. “Look at the tricks I can do with my bike.”

Max’s father smiled. “I remember when you were a little boy. You could barely run! Now look at you.”

Max tried another trick. “Check this out, Pa!”. Max did a spin and balanced, just for a moment, the bike on just on the tip of its front tire. “Whadya think of that?”

Pa thought about it for a minute. “I love it.” He said, “I remember when you were hiding peanuts behind your back. Now, look at you!”

“Pa. Why do you always bring that up?” Max’s face changed a little. “I was so little I don’t even remember that.”

--

--

Manu Chatterjee
ILLUMINATION

Engineer and Father of two. Passionate about, science, music, short stories, and little things that make life interesting.