Live Everyday Like It’s Your Last Day Because One Day it Will Be.

Shadow Scribe
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2024

How to make the most of today.

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Time is transient, and so is life.

Our lives are only as short as the hyphen between the birth and death year on an epitaph.

Why then are we in a hurry? Why are we always busy chasing the next phases of life in an endless rat race? We’re always looking forward to one goal after another, paying little or no attention to the ones already achieved.

I want to go to the university.

I’m a graduate now, now I need to get a job.

I have a good job now, I need to get married and start a family.

I just got married, I need to buy a car/house/build a business and yada yada ya!

It’s always one want to another. One aspiration after another. Some of us even add to our torment by comparing our lives with others. So, we become even more restless and desirous of material possessions and accomplishments.

All the while, our time is ticking. We’re getting closer to the death date — a date we don’t even know.

How do you know you’ll be alive tomorrow to get that promotion? Who told you you’d have the time to build and fix your family in three months? Have you stopped to think that maybe today might just be your last day? I mean literally, you might just not be alive tomorrow.

Nobody promised you tomorrow.

Pause! Catch your breath and reflect.

I know life is only meaningful when there’s something to work towards. True. Goals and challenges add to the spice of life. Therefore, it’s good to have plans.

But, take time to live in the moment. Live today. Savor the gift of life every day. Do things you know you’d do if you knew today was your last day on earth. Be intentional about it.

Tell your spouse you love them. Call your parents. Take on an adventure. Be kind to people and yourself. Be generous. The list is endless, and it’s up to you.

Gratitude. Appreciation. Contentment.

These should guide you every day in your pursuit of future success. Don’t try to fast forward your future. Just live in the present.

Uhm, I don’t think I like my present, Sonia. I’d rather disappear into the future.

I understand you, I really do. I used to be that way while growing up. I was greatly unhappy about my childhood. So, I often fantasized about my future. I looked forward to growing up, going to the university, getting a job, moving out, and eventually getting married.

I was so lost in the thought of my future that I couldn’t identify other opportunities to build happiness as a child. I barely socialized, so I didn’t have friends, didn’t play video and outdoor games, no girl's night, no parties. It was just my books and thoughts of my future.

Boring!

The bottom line is, if you’re unhappy with your present, there’s always something you can be happy about. Look for it and focus on building gratitude around it. If not for anything, be grateful for life. Life comes with hope.

I honestly didn’t mean for this piece to be this long, but here we are. lol!

As I wrap up, remember Gratitude, Appreciation, and Contentment are how you live for today. Make plans for tomorrow but make the most of today.

Cheers,

Sonia.

If you enjoyed reading this, please do well to comment and tap the clap icon. Fun fact, you can clap as many as 50 times.

--

--

Shadow Scribe
ILLUMINATION

I write on Non-fiction Book Summaries and Relatable Real-Life Stories