Daily living

Living Amongst the Virus

This is what life looks like when returning to work with a mask

Amelia Prochnow
ILLUMINATION

--

In many parts of the U.S. life is starting to return to “normal” as we know it — and this isn’t a good thing. For example, people are forcing salons to re-open because they are overdue for Summer highlights. In effect, new cases are appearing more and more each day due to people’s negligence.

June 22, 2020, was my first day back into the real world, and my first time conversing with people other than my immediate family. And let me say this was all quite a weird experience…

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

I must disclose that the new “normal” isn’t very normal at all. I’d rather just keep working from home; however, my job requires in-person contact and that entails that I must wear a mask for my full shift and sanitize everything anyone touches or even looks at.

Wearing a mask doesn’t feel right. I feel like a criminal.

We wear masks because we are uncertain about what is out there in the world and because it provides an extra layer of precaution. I know I’d much rather wear a mask than have the virus. Since the whole pandemic started, people have never felt more uncertain about their life, and I cant attest that this is a very scary feeling.

It was a very odd experience talking to other people, but I am enjoying the change and I feel like I finally have a little bit of normalcy in my life when sticking to a new daily schedule.

Photo by Alin Luna on Unsplash

During my 18 minute commute down the road, I noticed the steady flow of traffic on the roads. Where was everyone going? I still have no clue. I teach Summer camp classes all Summer, so I have to take extra precautions when going to and from work each day. Apart from wearing the mask, I must station each student at least 6 feet apart from one another which is not an easy task. Kids always want to be running around the room or touching something or someone, so constantly screeching, “Stay in your own seats kids!” gets a little tiring.

The new normal is this socially-distant lifestyle where we can’t even leave our houses without stressing about whether or not we will contract a deadly disease. People that have weakened immune systems are even worse off, and forcing life to get back to the way it was before this pandemic will create more chaos than safety for everyone.

With the way things are looking in society today, I would be surprised if we can ever return to a non-mask wearing environment.

In Seattle, Washington the numbers of new cases are quickly rising again, and a new mandate will be put into effect on Friday that requires all people to be wearing a mask when out in public. So, you know what that means? It means the people that can no longer work remotely must suffer the stifling heat of the mask when temperatures are just starting to rise again.

All in all, this new means of living has taught me a thing or two about saving my money and self-control when it comes to finding new exciting activities to do instead of just shopping at the mall. (Now we can all just waste our money online!) It is sad that Summer 2020 may be going down the drain faster then we can plug it, but we have to find a way to make our own happiness and figure out ways to make work and life appear “normal” again.

Now, of course, it is not the time to throw in the towel and take off your mask out of rebellion but, rather, it is time to start sanitizing more thoroughly to try to gain some of the world’s sanity back.

It is truly never too late to start living, even if it is in a time of uncertainty and a mass grey area. Don’t give up.

The few things that I have learned with trying to construct my life back to the way it was before things blew up are:

  1. Don’t be angry that you have to wear a mask. Suck it up and continue being sanitary for yourself and those around you.
  2. Make the best of the crazy. Be happy that you’re healthy.
  3. Continue to sanitize everything and wash your hands with extremely hot water and soap!
  4. Take breaks to reflect on how you are performing so far.

--

--

Amelia Prochnow
ILLUMINATION

A college student looking to impact the world and your reading lists.