Love Builders and Love Busters

How to Create a Love Compass

Story Taller
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ben Rosett on Unsplash

It is almost midnight. I am happily painting in the living room. My husband is sleeping and I feel so absorbed in my creation that I feel like I can do this all night long. I love adding a brush of color here, another there, and watching the image I pursue in my head come alive on the canvas in front of me.
I am in a state of flow.

Then I get up to have a glass of water and see the light in the dormitory. My husband is not asleep. I go to check on him. I am smiling.
Then I sense his discomfort and my smile vanishes:

“Are you OK?” I ask.
“I cannot sleep, the light is keeping me awake.”

I murmur something like “Why didn't you say anything?” but there is no gain in raising his discomfort. Besides, now, I also feel uncomfortable and that would make any conversation harder. I rush to clean the table, put the painting aside, turn the lights off and I go to sleep.
We will have time to speak in the morning.

Surely enough, morning came and we both felt better. We sat at our small kitchen table, enjoying our cups of drinks and laughing about silly things.

--

--

Story Taller
ILLUMINATION

Writer, Tantra therapist, and Laughter Yoga teacher. I love writing about life, love, and hope. I dream about starting a holistic retreat center in Portugal. 🙂