Love & Labels: Why Titles Matter & Why We Are Scared of Them

Christine Lorelie
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 6, 2023

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

In our modern world, it often appears that the term "title" or “label” has fallen out of favor, with the exception of people’s pronouns. As a Hapi Listener, I've heard numerous stories about people being in "situationships" or "friends-with-benefits," Let me be clear—I hold no judgments against these arrangements. I believe that they can serve a purpose. However, as I've gathered from my experiences as a listener, these title-less relationships can carry a set of challenges that you may or may not want to opt into if you knew about them.

But to each their own!

While such relationships may appear to offer the benefits of companionship without the complexities, I believe it's important to understand why people often steer clear of titles and, in turn, explore why it is also important to have them. Please keep in mind that I'm no relationship expert. This article is written solely from my own insights and learnings gained through thousands of anonymous conversations with strangers who have been caught up in titleless relationships.

Why Do We Avoid Having Titles?

In the dating world and the realm of relationships, you’ll often come across people who prefer to keep things low-key regarding labels and titles. Instead of the usual “boyfriend” or…

--

--

Christine Lorelie
ILLUMINATION

UX Researcher | Product Designer | Listener | Millennial | Writing about what it means to be human | www.christinelorelie.com