Love’s Sorrow

A poem about the stress of a loved one’s pain and about a relationship that’s gone sour

Denise Larkin, BA (Hons)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readSep 7, 2020

--

Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

You come to me
Pained and sorrowed
You tell me your feelings
Are ripped from your heart
A sensation so soiled
It twirls my insides
With an insense of shock
Reeling sharply
I’m stunned and rocked.

A loss unimaginable
You are filled
With an aching
And it agonizes me
To see you lost
And tossed
Into the dark.

With a strain so plight
It pushes me to fight
To enhance your relationship
To gain its strength
Back to normality
With my experience of love.

I feel your damning soul
My poor son
Lost in the madness
Of love’s sadness
As I watch you sit there
Never smiling
Not seeming happy
For your heart isn’t here
But attached to another place
Another time
A lover’s tiff
Gone awry.

--

--

Denise Larkin, BA (Hons)
ILLUMINATION

Mastodon: @dlarkin121@me.dm An author/writer of fiction novels and poetry living in London writing about her experiences on Medium. dlarkin121@gmail.com