Luck From Above

Limerick: Blessed By A Bird — Part II

Melanie J.
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Vlad Chețan from Pexels

there once was a bird named Miss Sweetie
she lives in a tree near Party City
she ate something yummy
but it upset her tummy
Her poop hit my arm and it wasn’t pretty

The Limerick is based loosely on facts. After leaving Party City, I walked under a tree and a bird pooped on my arm. Although I call her Miss Sweetie (I assumed it was a girl) there was nothing sweet about what she did. But I did not get upset because I have heard my mom mention that getting pooped on by a bird is a great blessing.

According to the all knowing Google this is a sign of good luck and it is a very rare occurrence. One source even states that you have a better chance of winning the lottery than getting pooped on by a bird. If I had known how rare this was, I probably would have played the lottery. This was my first incident of a bird pooping directly on me, but they surely have blessed my cars on multiple occasions over the years.

I am not big on superstitions, but if this is in fact a sign of good luck, then I welcome all the luck in the world. Birds are considered by some to be mystical creatures, so I don’t mind being connected to this rare incident. I have always wanted to be as free as a bird, and this incident has surely added to that meaning; birds are free to do whatever they want.

--

--