Mac and Cheese Flavored Ice Cream

Has a food injustice occurred?

Crystal A. Wolfe
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 25, 2021

--

I love food. Always game for trying new things and supporting chefs creating ways to remake classics, I’d like to think of myself as a little bit of a foodie. However, I think I just discovered a hard line for me that makes me want to scream, “Oh hell no.” What could it be? Mac and cheese ice cream.

That’s right! Recently, Van Leeuwen released Kraft Macaroni & Cheese flavored ice cream and for a limited time.

I can only assume that after reading that, you are either surprised, in disbelief or excited. Me? I have to say that I’m skeptical at best.

What’s next? Cheeseburger birthday cakes? Sushi-stuffed french toast? I let the creation of the cronut slide, but this ice cream flavor makes me cringe.

You may be asking, “What’s the big deal? If you like food so much and willing to try new things, you should embrace it!”

To help answer this, I need to elaborate on a few food items that I hold near and dear to my heart. I am always on the hunt for an excellent strawberry donut and see if I can find a bowl of shrimp and grits that can top the last one I had. However, of all of the food items that I am in search of, I’m always keeping my eyes peeled for mac and cheese. Even at the grocery store, I’ll peruse the aisles…

--

--

Crystal A. Wolfe
ILLUMINATION

Creative writer, full-time RVer, & travel enthusiast. Follwer her on her adventures on Facebook, Instagram & YouTube at: https://linktr.ee/CrystalAWalker