GRANDMA’S KITCHEN CHALLENGE

Making Something Hot & Delicious in Grandma (Nana’s) Kitchen

I never felt safer or more loved than in my Nana’s kitchen. Also, I never went hungry.

Stephen Dalton
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readOct 24, 2020

--

Plated bread pudding with topping.
Image by Digna Cassens from Pixabay

The Rules Are Simple:

When you accept the challenge, you must tag who you received it from and add/tag others. I received the challenge from Ana Ryan. Look for my tags at the end. Copy the subtitles and share your own experiences. It’s that easy, and kind of fun!

Mixer Photo by Taryn Elliot from Pexels

When My Grandmother Cooked, My Job Was To…

I only had one job, and that was to lick the mixer blades. Well, I usually only got one because I had to share with a sibling or cousin usually. Although Nana would sometimes ask me to fetch something for her, licking the blades were a required chore. However, it didn’t seem a chore. I didn’t mind at all. In fact, I could hardly wait.

Can you imagine getting so excited about licking a mixer blade the drool runs down your chin?

The smell that makes me think of my grandma’s…

--

--

Stephen Dalton
ILLUMINATION

Stephen Dalton is a retired US Army First Sergeant with a degree in journalism from the University of Maryland. Top Writer in Investing, Business, & Bitcoin!