Managing Presbyopia in Midlife

Sim C.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2023

Five self-care tips to handle long-sightedness better

My optician recently gave me a pair of contact lenses to try. These were not the usual lenses. They are exclusively for people like me who have both short- and long-sightedness. And I can’t express enough how thankful I am to him because it means not carrying my reading glasses with me every time I wear my normal contact lenses. If you are someone like me who’s been short-sighted (literally) for a very long time, then you’ll be able to relate with the agony of what it is like to also be long-sighted now. You have so many types of glasses to keep — one for short-sightedness, one pair of reading glasses with power, one pair of reading glasses without power and so forth. (PS: I’ve not tried progressive glasses yet, maybe they will end my misery of keeping so many pairs of glasses in the future!)

Short-sightedness, called Presbyopia, luckily is a manageable aging condition. it is a natural part of the aging process. It is a common vision condition that usually occurs in early- to mid-40s. Our eyes’ ability to focus on close objects starts getting hazy, making it challenging to read and perform other tasks that are at a close range.

Here are five tips that will help you better manage Presbyopia and maintain a clear vision during midlife.

1. Find out which eyewear option is best for you. If your vision is 20/20, just a pair of reading glasses should do. An optician can perform an eye test and tell you your reading glasses power. If you wear lenses, get customized lenses made. Again, your optician will be able to guide you with your power. It will make your life a lot easier without having to worry about carrying one or two extra pairs of spectacles with you.

2. Get regular eye check-ups done. I go for an annual check up to ensure that everything is in order. Afterall, our eyes are our window to the world. I do admit that I take them for granted by not giving them enough rest especially when I am knowingly scrolling down mindless content on my phone.

3. Give your eyes a nutritious diet. Go for foods that are especially rich in vitamins A, C, and E; foods that contain minerals such as zinc in them; and also add omega-3 fatty acids-diet rich food. You can consider getting supplements as well if you think your daily diet does not have enough of these nutrients. These nutrients support eye function and age-related vision changes.

4. Keep your eyes hydrated. Eye moisture is necessary to keep them healthy. Reduce dry eye symptoms by hydrating your eyes daily. An OTC eyedrops are very helpful. I usually put these drops before sleeping, giving my eyes much-needed rest. Some of my colleagues, who have to peer at their computer screens for most part of the day, carry a bottle of eyedrops to office and keep using it frequently.

5. Manage eye fatigue. Do you know of the 20–20–20 rule? I read it in an eye hospital I visited last year when I took my mother for her cataract surgery. It means taking a 20 second break to look at something that is 20 feet away every 20 minutes. This is in fact very helpful. Take breaks especially when you are staring at the digital screen. and then, there are many eye exercises too that you can practice to keep the eyes muscles strong.

A close-up of a woman’s face trying a pair of reading glasses
My very ‘bookish’ friend recently got to know she has presbyopia; in this picture, she is trying the right reading glasses for her and asking for my opinion (photo by author)

Presbyopia, like so many other natural aging functions, may introduce challenges, but it need not be a hurdle. You can continue to enjoy clear vision and lead a fulfilling life, even with presbyopia, by embracing a holistic approach to self-care.

All tips mentioned above can ease the daily challenges of close-up tasks. They will help you reclaim the power to see clearly, to focus on the beautiful visuals around you, and to enjoy just basic things such as reading or watching anything closely.

--

--

Sim C.
ILLUMINATION

Reader. Writer. Editor. Yoga noob. Naturopath student. Single mum to a teen. Join me in my ‘Revive n Thrive’ journey as I try to reset my life in mid-40s.