Many Knives. copyright Carmen Fong 2020

Many Knives, Many Lives

I wear many hats and wield many knives

Carmen Fong, MD
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2020

--

While making dinner the other day, dicing red peppers, I realized that in my life, I use a lot of different knives. That gave me an idea for an article. I decided today that I would combine two objectives and make this my bio. After all, isn’t the knowledge of what knives I use everything you need to know about me?

Kitchen Knives. copyright Carmen Fong 2020

In the evenings, I love to chop vegetables. There’s something so meditative in doing it properly. The fine dice, the crosshatching of mincing, the heavy, crude chops for soup stock carrots, potatoes and onions. I love it. These days I wield a Misen, a surprisingly useful chef’s knife at a reasonable price. My favorite part of it is how the handle is molded to be in-line with the neck of the blade. No weird corner gunk to clean out, no stabby bits on the grip. It‘s nice. My other ride is a beautiful handmade knife that my partner got me for my birthday. The blade is hand-forged steel, the handle is a dark, oiled wood. It’s sharp and heavy and so nice to use. But it was so expensive (in my view, but it’s not like one of those $1000 knives) and I worry about it, so after each use I hand wash it and oil up the blade and the handle. I know…

--

--

Carmen Fong, MD

Writer, artist, surgeon NYC>> ATL. LGBTQ+ Asian. Doximity Op Med Fellow ‘22-’23. www.carmenfong.com, https://linktr.ee/Hongkongfong