Feminism Series Vol. 1

Marriage: It’s Easier to Separate Than it is to Stay with It and Work out the Differences

But… If ‘ifs’ and ‘buts’ were candies and nuts we’ll all have a Merry Christmas

Jaja Requa
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

A photo of my husband and I. This year will be 21 years of marriage.

My marriage was on the rocks and I told Julius Evans about it. To which he replied:

Credit to you both for remaining together. Even through the darkest hours. It’s easier to get fat than it is to lose weight. It’s easier to spend money than it is to save it (self-gratification and all). It’s easier to separate, to a degree, than it is to stay with it and work out the differences…

That is quotable poetry right there!

That wisdom is soooo true.

Marriages are so fickle nowadays. People get divorced if they don’t like the way you sneeze …lol

It’s not like my parent's or my aunties' days where marriages last 50, 60 years. To me marriage is like family, you can get pissed at them, temporarily not talk to them, and not like their opinion or idiosyncrasies. BUT you still love them so you eventually work it out.

I’m more old-fashioned than I seem.

Since marriage is not the same as it used to be. I really believe that the court system…

--

--

Jaja Requa
ILLUMINATION

Self-Help Junky, Spiritual Journalist & Lover of Wisdom.Join me here https://jajarequa.medium.com/membership or Follow me on instagram @jajarequa