Medium Cracks Down on AI-Generated Content

What This Means for Writers

Alina Pitt
ILLUMINATION

--

Lost AI Robot, created by author with hotpot.ai

***Non-members can read the full story for free here.***

When I started with Medium in October 2023, I thought my writing might not be good enough to compete with other writers here on this huge platform, so I improved it with Chat GPT. The results were not so great, and it sounded like it was written by an AI program, not by me, so I ended up deleting about 60 stories at the end of January this year.

This was not an easy step, and I had to say goodbye to all these stories that were initially a good idea. However, the output was so far away from my voice that I still felt a bit sad about deciding to take this step. I made peace with my loss and gradually found my own voice and last month I made my first AUD 1,000 on Medium. I am very happy with this development.

Today, when I checked my emails, I was surprised to see that Medium is completely cracking down on AI-generated content, regardless of whether it was labeled correctly as AI-generated text or not. Depending on the situation, you…

--

--

Alina Pitt
ILLUMINATION

Alina is a writer, yoga teacher, digital nomad, ex-marketing and sales manager. She escaped the 9-5 rat race and became a microdosing and biohacking advocate.