Medium Is The Newest MLM Craze

It’s like the pink drink for writers

Adrienne Koziol
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Matthew Essman on Unsplash

Day after day, the same types of articles pop up in my suggestions:

I wrote for 30 days and here’s what happened…

My stats show an amazing trend….

How I made thousands in just a few months….

I thought it was a fad at first, something that wouldn’t catch on. Surely no one cares, and people will get tired of writing about these topics. But then it became irritating. More people began to share these kinds of articles, and I began to wonder why. After all, those stats, trends, and tips are nothing new. We’ve all heard it a thousand times.

But then it clicked. It’s like a pyramid scheme.

The pink drink of the writing world

Seriously, let’s make the comparison.

You’re a struggling writer, just like someone struggles with their health.

Medium comes along, offering the freedom to publish what you want and make money. It’s a writer’s dream. Just like the pink drink can cure you of whatever health issues you have while giving you the chance to make huge amounts of money. Perfect. How do you make money? People — but they have to want what you’re selling, whether it’s information or the pink…

--

--

Adrienne Koziol
ILLUMINATION

If I felt more creative, I'd figure out a way to use up 160 words describing my life as a wife, mom, editor, and writer.