Meet John: Why I Joined Illumination

And why I continue writing for this crazy, synergistic publication

John Ross
ILLUMINATION

--

Salt Lake City, Utah

Let’s be honest, this publication is wild. All over the place.

And it works.

It fits.

It’s as it says, synergistic, welcoming.

There’s a lot of energy here. A lot of support.

When I first started writing on Medium, I had poured my heart into some stories I had written and then I posted them into the vastness of Medium only to be swallowed up into obscurity. As I’ve met others on here, this seems to be the common way of getting started.

I didn’t really know how to use Medium yet. I didn’t know how to engage with other writers. I didn’t know how to support and be supported. I just posted my stories and let them be with most of my feedback coming from those on Facebook and Twitter which was great, but I was really trying to figure out how to connect on Medium with people I didn’t already know.

I started getting some stories picked up by publications and even curated but I didn’t feel like I really figured out Medium until I connected with other writers. The key wasn’t in getting published or curated but in the mutual support and encouragement of fellow writers.

--

--

John Ross
ILLUMINATION

Writing stories, working in the NBA, & learning each day how to better love my neighbor — www.hellojohnwross.com