POETRY | SELF | LOVE |GROWTH

Menagerie of Me

A poem that reflects on the pieces that make us unique.

Roxy Wright
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2022

--

Close up picture of a dusty wine bottle.
(Photo by Marco Mornati on Unsplash)

As I cradle this old wine bottle,

Label long gone, decades of dust layer the rim,

My fingers tickle the dried cabernet tears,

A roadmap flowing from mouth to punt.

.

Through the antique green glass,

A misty Golden Gate cloud floats free,

Licking the inside walls, this cloud,

A sliver of peace from memories of the bridge.

.

I funneled my smile into the opening,

Not my insincere grin,

But the warm smile my son saw,

As he opened his eyes for the first time.

.

Hovering my nose above the opening,

I gently wafted air to my face,

The aroma of tamales and laughter emerge,

I tenderly bottled my childhood home on Christmas Day.

.

Jiggle the green bottle to stir the contents,

--

--

Roxy Wright
ILLUMINATION

Sex, family, poetry, self-reflection, kids, divorce, secrets. I am many pieces that make up a whole. Expect the same with my writings. Twitter: @RoxyWright0