Mental Health and Laughter

Dr Nicole Randick
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readDec 20, 2022

--

10 Holiday Jokes — Hold the Eye Roll Until the End Please

Image from Canva by @damedeeso

It all started with summer camp. My kids attended overnight camp every summer since they were in 6th grade. Parents could stay connected with their kids by sending “bunk notes.”

All I had to do was type up a note, submit it to their computer system, and the next day my kids would get a message from mom and dad!

I had to make these notes entertaining, of course! Every note that I virtually sent had a joke in it. I thought I was being so clever to send them something that would make them laugh and maybe even be able to share with everyone in their cabin.

When they got home, I excitedly questioned them about their “bunk note” experience and asked if they liked the jokes!

Eye roll….and a few grunts.

So, maybe they didn’t like the jokes?

Image from Canva by rom Hình ảnh của Nghĩa Ngọc

The following year they went back to camp. I, again, sent the bunk notes, but without the jokes.

When they got home, they asked where the jokes were! Why didn’t I send them a joke a day?

What? They did like the jokes?

--

--

Dr Nicole Randick
ILLUMINATION

Expressive Arts Therapist and Educator. Writing about psychology and the healing power of the expressive arts to promote mental health and wellness.