Mind Writes for Soul

Sayali
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2020

A poem

Photo by Denys Argyriou on Unsplash

I am sorry
I made it hard for you
I didn’t know loving was easy
I kept you in a shell
I thought the open sky is scary
I dragged you in a dark room
I thought it’s secure and comforting
I underestimated your potential
I didn’t know I feared to fail
I kept escaping the dark memories
I didn’t know time doesn’t heal, it only buries them down within
I built a giant wall of suppression brick by brick
I didn’t know when the sun shone it cast a dark shadow behind
I was ignorant of my sins
I didn’t know I was blinded with the false morality

I have broken the glass of illusion
Some days I am tired and weak
And the fear of uncertainty clouds the sky of hope
I’ve learned that fears are inevitable
It’s the courage people need
I know the tight passage which would lead me to the light
and I refuse to hide again
With every page turned and inked
I am breaking down the wall brick by brick

Thanks for showing me the inherent truth
Thanks for bestowing light on the aspects left ignorant by me
Whenever I would be lost
I would just close my eyes for you to show me the way
I would direct my course for our rivers to meet
and that is how peace shall silently creep in illuminating our being.

Poem inspired by the Hindi movie Masan’s dialogue:

Sangam do bar hona chahiye, ek bar akele ek bar kisi k sath

Translation:

Confluence should happen twice, once alone and once with someone

--

--

Sayali
ILLUMINATION

to live moments.. to write stories.. because i am here.