Mockery of Freedom!

Md Islam
ILLUMINATION
Published in
Apr 28, 2024

--

Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

They told me I was free,
That I’ve earned my victory.
But never told me the price I would pay for this mockery!
That I couldn’t read or write as I pleased?
That I couldn’t breath the same air as I did ?
Or that, they would poison my water with fleas, and still charge me for it?
That I would be handed from the jackal to the swine,
And they would rob me blind?
But they said, it was Progress!
I say, to what end?
So their goons can steal in our name, for their own gain?
And leave the rest wallow in vain?
And build a lawless godless state?
No thanks!!
I’d rather spit in their grave!

Bangladeshi poet!

--

--

Md Islam
ILLUMINATION

Entrepreneur, Writer, and former executive at a Fortune 500. Lover of Poetry and a Dreamer in Disguise. Feel free to contact for an exciting collab. Cheers!