Mommas Please Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Wealth Managers

Brian Dickens Barrabee
The Haven
Published in
3 min readNov 24, 2020

--

When they were seated and calmed down, I tried to make the students and myself more comfortable with each other by asking the kids what made them choose a talk about a career as a wealth manager

Photo by Kuanish Reymbaev on Unsplash

No professional ambitions drove me as a young kid. Nobody could have tempted me with being a professional football player, a Nobel Prize winner, neurosurgeon, President — I just wanted to work for myself.

Be my own boss.

I have successfully accomplished that to a large degree. Now retired; content with my resume of past occupational activities

I’m comfortable in my retirement with enough assets saved to live out my life the way in which I’ve become accustomed.

Time for me to GIVE BACK!

I remembered Career Day at Oakhurst Elementary. Think they still have it after all these years?

I called up the Oakhurst , New Jersey Municipal Services Bldg.

It still existed; as did the Elementary School.

A quick call to the school confirmed it was continuing to educate and they were going to celebrate their 71st Career Day in March. There would be some 20 careers discussed with the 5th and 6th graders in the various classrooms. There would be no school for K-4.

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
The Haven

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.