Monopoli: Italy’s Hidden Paradise Revealed!

Jozsef Kovacs
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readSep 18, 2023

--

Sun, Sea, and Secrets of Puglia — Our Five-Day Adventure

Monopoli, Italy
All images captured by the Author.

A whirlwind of planning, a dash of spontaneity, and a ticket to Italy. Our mission? To blend a brief summer escape. The rendezvous point? Rome. But our real destination is the hidden Italian jewel of Monopoli. Join us for a whirlwind of adventure, culture, and charm in the heart of Puglia.

The preparations

Careful preparation preceded our short vacation with my partner, determining how to make it happen. It wasn’t straightforward and self-evident, unfortunately, because my wife could only take 3 days off work during the summer.

Furthermore, since I regularly take part in a one-week intensive meditation retreat in Tuscany in August, I wanted to connect the two trips. Thus, it was clear that Italy was our choice.

Logistics

After this, it only required a small logistical task to determine where and when we would meet with my wife following my participation in the program.

So our choice fell on Rome, which I approached by train, while my partner approached by plane. We wanted to spend a night in Rome because it was my wife’s specific request to see the Colosseum.

--

--

Jozsef Kovacs
ILLUMINATION

Executive Technology Consultant, Traveller, and Photographer. Writing about leadership, IT and travelling.