More Than 10,000 Years Have Passed. Our Work-Life Balance Is Still In Disarray

Sheen Brisals
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readJul 2, 2022

--

Sources: greekreporter.com and Microsoft 365 stock image

It was a pleasant spring morning. I closed the book as the train touched the long platform of my destination station.

“How are you finding it?” — a curious voice came from the opposite seat as I lifted myself up.

“Ah, yes, it’s quite interesting. I like books that go back in time”, I responded.

“I am expecting mine to be delivered at the weekend. I’ve heard so much about it and can’t wait to have it”. I sensed his excitement as we headed towards the door.

Our conversation continued as we walked along the long platform until we exited the ticket gates. With a customary “See you, have a nice day!”, we took different directions and disappeared into the rush-hour commuter crowd.

“Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind” by Yuval Noah Harari was the book I was reading that day.

That morning, I read through the chapter that discussed how our ancestors some 12,000 years ago gradually got into farming. That must have brought them to hope for a better life from being foragers. Instead, it trapped them on an endless flywheel spinning faster at every turn.

--

--

Sheen Brisals
ILLUMINATION

Co-author of Serverless Development on AWS (O'Reilly, 2024) | Engineer. Architect. Leader. Writer. Speaker. AWS Serverless Hero.