More Than A Reflection

Labman Perspective
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2022

The Power of Stories that Stimulate Self-Realization & Improvements

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood

“You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him find it within himself.” Galileo Galilei once said

I realized the truth of this, only once I reacquainted myself with the fables of my childhood–they helped me find, within myself, the truths I had been seeking for so long.

Every day, I see extremely driven, determined, and self-assured men and women from all walks of life and in every profession and discipline. The world can be a difficult and challenging place, and many of these men and women admit they need help to navigate daily challenges.

However, there are even more people who are struggling, but who do not realize they need help. People who are capable of great success, but who are unable to reach it because they simply do not have access to the necessary guidance on their journey of self-betterment and self-fulfillment.

Surprisingly, subtle wisdom hidden in seemingly insignificant folklores, fables, and ancient stories can, in fact, help them, and others, learn to become their best selves in a captivating, comprehensible, and retainable way. We all possess the characteristics necessary to navigate the difficulties of everyday life and to emerge wiser and more successful at the other end.

We all have an “inner voice,” a guide that instructs us on our journey through the world, and affirms the myriad decisions we make throughout our lives.

However, even the best among us can become caught up in our visions, passions, goals, and the minutiae of our day-to-day existence. If we do not remain aware of our inner landscape, we run the risk of becoming deaf to that voice and miss the inner warning signs that prompt us to correct our behavior, thoughts, feelings, or patterns. In this way, we sometimes become who we never intended to be–a lesser version of ourselves.

I realized, when I rediscovered stories of my childhood, that I had lost sight of myself: Those once-captivating stories told by parents or grandparents, served as a mirror, and they reflected back to me who I have become.

Photo by Anna Rye

In them I saw the good, the bad, the lessons I still had to learn, and the changes I had to make; I saw my shortcomings, and my potential– I saw the way to becoming a better version of myself. When I opened myself up to my own journey of self-betterment, the blessings in my life increased tenfold: My relationships with my loved ones improved because I became someone who listens, not just hears, and my performance at work was enhanced on account of my willingness to learn from others and I was able to accept I do not have to know everything and always be in control. This brought me great freedom and inner peace. I learned to value and love myself; I now know how to take care of myself as an emotional, intellectual, physical, and spiritual being.

I am fully surprised by the power of those ancient tales and stories, and the willingness of an open mind to let the embedded morals and realizations stimulate the “improvement” center of my being. If you are intrigued, feel free to give it a try, if nothing is conveniently available through your parents or grandparents or even google, try out what I put together in this book here: Life Fables for the Super Committed. May you be inspired, in every way possible.

Labman Perspective

--

--

Labman Perspective
ILLUMINATION

A scientist, a family man, and an avid hoarder of creative ideas and positive affirmations. I seek to inspire and to be inspired. 💯 Supporting You!