Mother’s Love

Sanjay K Biswas
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2020
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

It was June 2nd, 2005.

I remember it was a usual day. I was in my office busy with my work.

Around 2 PM I received a call from my Bhabi (Sister in law), saying, “Ma is not feeling well, come home.”

This was not usual and instead of asking what happened, I just informed my boss that there is some emergency and I left for home.

On reaching home, I rushed to my Mom’s room. I saw my Bhabi, my wife, my elder brother, and our kids sitting on the bed and my mother was lying down breathing heavily.

I had never seen my mother breathing like that.

I reached her and looked at her, holding her hand in my hands.

She looked at me. Her eyes told me that she was in pain but it was full of love. It was the first time I experienced such a look from her.

My mother has always been very strong and would never express her pain.

We knew that she needed immediate medical attention and called our family doctor. On listening to the condition, he advised for immediate admission to the hospital and sent an ambulance.

While she was being carried on a stretcher to the ambulance, just before going out of the main door of our house, she had a severe hiccup and it seemed that she lost her senses.

Upon reaching the hospital, she was immediately put on a ventilator.

Now she could breathe better but was not in her senses.

We informed our two sisters, one in Pittsburgh, USA, and another in Durgapur, West Bengal. Both of them arrived on 6th and 7th June.

Finally on 8th June, when we all were around her, she once opened her eyes, looked at all of us with an eternal smile for a short while, and then closed her eyes forever.

My mother loved all of us and ensured that we all were around her before she left us.

That day I realized, how deep Mother’s love is, for her children and family.

--

--

Sanjay K Biswas
ILLUMINATION

Coach, writer and Online Marketer. Helping people to get into their right mindset and live an abundant lifestyle with purpose.