My 2 habits to avoid stress

George Apostolopoulos
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 10, 2022

This article is very important for me. It includes a personal problem that I had. A social anxiety and an effort to constantly satisfy people, that was slowly eating my happiness away. But, let’s get into the subject now!

First of all, no! I am not one of the “influencers” that spend more time trying to be productive instead of really being happy. In this article, I will tell you 2 simple daily habits that really help me being happy and having plenty of leisure time available, to spend with my friends and family. The key is to avoid stress. And yes… It’s easier said than done, but let me share my experience and hopefully I will help at least one of you.

Photo by Zach Betten on Unsplash

Introduction

My life constantly reminds me how stress is waiting around the corner to hit me. Whether I am late for work, or whether I have to meet with people I don’t really want to, I get nervous and this has a bad impact on my mood. To avoid stress, unfortunately there is not a button that I can press and make it happen magically. However, I do 2 things that help me avoid as much stress as I can. To be honest, I am not always able to follow these habits, but I have learnt that the more follow them, the better for my mood and my life in general.`

I do wake up early

Some people claim the wake up at 5am and that it helps them being productive. Well, they may find it convenient, but for me it doesn’t work this way. Personally, I work from 9.30 to 17.30 and I wake up at 8.00. I have a whole hour for myself, in order to have a tasty breakfast, read the news and take a shower. My brain starts functioning slowly and steadily. I don’t rush! That’s the key! At the same time, even if something unexpected occurs, I have plenty of time to fix it and still be on time.

I say “no” more often

Saying “no” has always been my weak spot. I used to try to satisfy everyone in my life. After a lot of consideration I realised that I can’t always keep everyone happy, as this caused me anxiety. I was wondering if I was good enough with my friends. I was nervous whether saying “no” to my boss would get me in trouble. I always said yes! And I wasn’t happy.

My friends wanted to party. I didn’t, but… I was anxious, what would they think if I didn’t join them. Would they still be my friends? Well, true friends will ALWAYS be by your side! Now, I know that!

My boss wanted me to stay a couple of hours after my schedule, but I had plans with my girlfriend. And I thought, my job was more significant. But, guess what! My job is nothing, compared to what makes me happy. So, I started to slowly say “no”. And I couldn’t believe it, but it worked! I was amazed…

Saying “no” is difficult. For people that are not used to saying no, it can be tricky and sometimes they can even be a little rude. But, listen to me and do it. Don’t hesitate! The consequence will be to gradually avoid stressful situations. Do it!!!

Conclusion

Today, I shared a personal story… A piece of my heart. It hasn’t been stressful. Paradoxically, it has been relieving. Thank you for reading it. Please feel free to follow me and I will follow you back. Until the next article, stay safe!

--

--

George Apostolopoulos
ILLUMINATION

I am a software engineer, passionate about financial independence and personal growth.