My Account Was Cloned 3 Times Lately, So Another Reminder to New Readers to Prevent Harm

Spam and scam accounts persistently pollute the platform, and we must exercise caution by promptly identifying and reporting them.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJan 16, 2024

--

Image designed by the author

Dear Readers,

I have addressed this growing and disturbing issue twice before, and I have noticed that some readers still haven’t had the chance to read those stories. Therefore, I have created this quick post to ensure you don’t fall victim to a scam that could harm you mentally and financially.

Earlier today, a spam account duplicated my profile, using an identical name and profile photo to deceive my readers. Unfortunately, some readers believed it was me and sent private messages inquiring about this suspicious deal. I want to clarify that I never sell anything on Medium, so if you receive such messages, they are definitely not from me.

When you come across such messages, please report the offending reader immediately by clicking on the three dots (…) in their account. You can easily recognize them as they don’t have any stories in their profile and usually have no or very few followers. Fake profiles also lack the Friends of Medium heart icons or book author badges.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com