My “American Dream” Died Today After Discovering This

I’m mourning the hopes that have kept me alive for the past 32 years.

Jessey Anthony
ILLUMINATION

--

Why American Families Are Leaving the US for Europe
Image by freepik

As a young child living in one of the poorest countries in the world, the American Dream was sold to us on a gold platter.

I have always liked the princess movies. Growing up, I was a girly girl and the idea of the princesses being rescued by her princes struck me as nothing but a “perfect love” life.

Living in a diamond castle, having fairies make your wishes come true with the wave of a wand, flying unicorns taking you anywhere around the world, and talking animals transformed into princes or princesses with a simple kiss was the magical life America offered.

On the Eve of New Year 1996, I made a wish that I was going to live in an enchanted castle with my prince and children. I promised to study hard and be an obedient girl until my prince found me.

Shortly after high school, I found my prince. We were happy. But that didn’t last long. I got into an accident which made me paralyzed and I found out in the hospital bed that I was pregnant.

My prince got scared and couldn’t take the burden of caring for a paralyzed girl and a baby so he abandoned me emotionally but supported our child’s upkeep from afar.

--

--

Jessey Anthony
ILLUMINATION

Motivational speaker, fitness enthusiast, and self-improvement nerd. See how I stay fit and confident: bit.ly/3j0Lm9Z