My Baptism Of Fire

Otherwise known as early days of working as an editor for Illumination

Maria Rattray
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Gabe Pierce on Unsplash

I am writing this in response to Dew Langrial’s wonderful post where she beautifully wrote about her virgin experience, her DAY ONE of being an editor at Illumination, and challenged us all to share our personal stories.

Just to set the record straight, I began editing on the same week we moved house. I don’t really know which demanded more courage, the need to appear competent on Illumination, or gaining relative order amongst my personal chaos.

And even if my fellow editors don’t believe this, Illumination won over! The rookie needed practice! Were eyes raised heavenly in response to my efforts? I suppose I will never know, but the urge to behave as competent was ever there!

Because of that, even today boxes still line the shelves of our garage, the temptation always hovering, to choose a simplistic route and simply re-load them into the boot of the car, reverse into the local tip, and leave all as a gift for foragers.

Right now the unopened boxes serve as a dark reminder of how far I need to go to be truly minimalist.

But back to those electrifying days as an editor. If only I could even find enough courage to even venture there in my mind. I can’t. All I recall is…

--

--

Maria Rattray
ILLUMINATION

Writer, author, teacher, fun-loving poet. Trying valiantly to make the world a better place. Helping you to guide the future. Find me at: https://ponmyword.com