My Cat

A fictional story of finding love with a cat

Hassan Siddiqui
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 25, 2022

--

Photo By Malek On Unsplash

One after another, there were a lot of beautiful cats. But my eyes were only on one of them. But that one cat was too quick so it was difficult to capture that cat. That cat was running ahead with the fellow cats. I was trying to catch that cat, but it got mixed into a big group of cats. When I got tired of finding that cat, I lay on the grass, and all of them returned to me and sat near me. The beautiful cats were in my arms. It seemed that I was decorated with cats. But my eyes were searching for that one cat to whom I was running behind. Then at that very moment, rain began and all those cats disappeared.

I stood up from the grass and began dancing in the rain. I was feeling every drop on my skin. I sang songs of love and kept dancing. After an hour, the rain stopped. And the sun appeared from the cloudy sky. A ray of sunshine fell on my face. And it made my soul warm. The flowers around me were looking too fresh after taking a bath with raindrops. And I was waiting for that cat to return to me.

After waiting for two hours, I thought that the cat was not going to come. So I left the park and went home. I took my meal because I was feeling so hungry. And then later in the evening, I began thinking about that cat. The longing took me to the park again.

The night sky was wonderful. Thousands of stars were shining. And moonlight looked fabulous on the flowers, grass, and mountains around me. I was appreciating the beauty of nature. Then, after a few seconds, I saw a cat in front of me. It was that cat for whom I was waiting.

Out of joy, I shout,

“O cat. My cat.”

That cat came closer to me, very near to my eyes. I felt that it was looking directly into my eyes, maybe communicating to my heart. I was wondering what that cat is doing. I was thinking, but then that cat ran away from me and I saw it going towards the mountains.

I sat on the grass and waited for what was going to happen. I asked myself,

“Will that cat return?”

A few minutes passed, and I saw a group of cats coming toward me from the mountains. And I heard a voice from among them,

“Do you love me?” A cat among them asked, but I didn’t know which one was asking.

At first, I got scared because I never knew cats could speak. But then I answered,

“I only love one of you. I only love my cat,” as soon as I said that, all the cats disappeared. And then one cat appeared, that one cat for whom I was waiting.

“You are among the chosen ones. I don’t interact with human beings normally. But you are the one I was searching for. I love you, I love you, my cat,” the cat said in a voice that was too sweet to my ears. The cat called me “cat,” because we were the same.

Tears of joy began falling from my eyes. My cat was in front of me, expressing love. So I said, too,

“I love you, I love you, my cat.”

And then my cat took me to the mountains, away from everybody, so that we could live in peace just by loving each other.

--

--

Hassan Siddiqui
ILLUMINATION

Hassan believes in the power of the written word to inspire. He is the author of Twenty Bright Paths. His Email: imhassansiddiqui12@gmail.com