WE ARE STRONGER THAN WE KNOW

My Cron’s Collapse — Standing Up Stronger Than Ever

How facing Cron’s disease during a world pandemic helped me find strength I never knew I had

Claire Kelly
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMar 8, 2021

--

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

Any chronic disease is tough to live with. I was diagnosed with Chron’s disease about a year and a half ago, just before the pandemic hit. I realize I am not the only one.

According to the CDC, millions of people worldwide suffer from this disease. “In 2015, an estimated 1.3% of US adults (3 million) reported being diagnosed with IBD (either Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis.) This was an enormous increase from 1999- (0.9% or 2 million adults).” What is more staggering, is that these statistics are for Chron’s disease only. Chronic illnesses are the leading causes of death and disability in the U.S. today.

But even when you are among millions, it is all too easy to feel as though you are the only one.

When I was first diagnosed, I didn’t quite grasp the concept of having an illness that would not go away with antibiotics, or some other sort of medication. Or that this was an illness that would stay with me for the rest of my life. My doctor prescribed me various medications, and I expected to feel like I always had. Only that didn’t happen.

--

--

Claire Kelly
ILLUMINATION

MEMBER SINCE FEB 2021. Spirituality and poetry are my passions by night, and I'm a content writer under daylight. I'm a boost nominator at Write Under the Moon