My Dad is Registered For The Vaccine — Only About 49 Million More to Go

It is difficult for the elderly to register for the vaccine. Please look out for your family and neighbors and help them!

DP Watz
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJan 14, 2021

--

Photo by Bruno Martins on Unsplash

This was not the first time I have helped my Dad complete something online. In the past, it was to buy a pair of boots or a fishing pole. This time, it was important. This phone call from Arizona to Michigan was to register my Dad for his place in line for the COVID vaccine.

Did I mention this is important — yet?

Like others, my Dad has been sheltered in place from normalcy that is needed for the elderly and especially those who live alone. It has been a long time!

He wears a mask. He is careful.

He has not been perfect. He has met at a friend’s driveway and drank coffee, as his coffee place has been closed. But this was after about two months of not seeing anyone. He has gone to a couple of local family events. And, since I live over a thousand miles away, I am sure there are other examples where he has been out in a risky zone.

Through the pandemic, everyone has had a moment, or two, or many more moments that your heart drops with fear of a situation.

My “moment” where I felt the air rush from my breath and blood turn cold was based on this exchange:

  • Me: “Why not have someone go to the store for you and pick up groceries and other needed items?”
  • Dad: “I wear my mask. I am careful.”
  • Me: “I know, but others do not wear a mask. It helps, but you can still catch COVID.”
  • Dad: “That’s ok.”
  • Me: “But if you catch it, you are over 85 years old, you in a vulnerable risk category.”
  • Dad: “I know, that is ok….you can’t live forever.”

Heart drop, deep breath. This was not a statement of an elderly man giving up, it was a statement that he would rather go out and breathe fresh air and see people, and if it costs him, that is better than sitting in the house every day.

Photo by John Moeses Bauan on Unsplash

All this leads to a conclusion for the elderly that I hope will be considered:

  • Go get the vaccine! Register Now! This is your chance to get through this!

But the process is not easy.

There is not one central process in the United States, but it seems like Arizona and Michigan are similar.

From what I can determine, here are a few bullet points of the issues that the elderly population will have:

  • They will have difficulty completing an online 15-page survey.
  • They will not understand the questions they are being asked, ie: Have you ever had an allergic reaction to a vaccine? Do you promise to reach the administrator of the vaccine if you feel ill after the vaccine?
  • They will not understand the purpose of needed insurance information …their question: “Will I be charged for this?”

The list can go on. But here are some other items to consider:

  • The elderly population may not be able to maneuver online.
  • The elderly population may not have a family member spend an hour on the phone, helping them page by page.
  • The elderly population may have ZERO opportunity to complete the form online.

Yes, there are phone options. The reason I was maneuvering online to help my Dad is that he spent a couple of days not getting a hold of anyone. It rang and no answer. It rang and was picked up and then hung up.

And, think about it, what if he did reach someone — does someone go over the 15 pages of questions with him on the phone?

So, I helped my Dad online. One down, there are over 49 million people at least over 65 years old or older that probably have a similar story of confusion, lack of help, and no way to maneuver online — which is the most efficient way to register. Of that population, 28 percent live alone. For women over age 75 that increases to 45 percent.

My suggestion:

Step up.

Don’t assume your elderly family member has everything under control.

Don’t assume your elderly neighbor has everything under control.

Don’t assume any other elderly loved one has everything under control.

You know they will say everything is fine. But it is up to you to probe, ask questions. Get details. Calling a phone line about the vaccine that has no answer or hangs up on them is not fine.

They may feel like they have lived long enough. They may be ready to go. But we are not ready to see them go. Not when we can do something about it.

--

--

DP Watz
ILLUMINATION

A very part time storyteller looking for interesting and positive stories to tell.