My Date Ghosted Me After Reading my Blogs

This is a reason why many are scared to write about what they truly want to but don’t dare to

Yana Bostongirl
ILLUMINATION

--

Young woman with dandelion
https://www.freepik.com/author/freepik

I knew this was going to happen — no matter how much you try your personal life from your writing life, it somehow picks this terrible timing to converge and blow up in your face.

In hindsight, it may even turn out to be a blessing in disguise that things happened the way they did. I’m talking about the ‘good it ended before it even began’ kind of perspective.

Most of you know that I write using a pen name. It is for privacy reasons and I don’t normally introduce myself as a blogger because this is my delicious little secret.

Call it vanity or perhaps s a desire to see how a potential suitor feels about dating a blogger like me who, well, blogs about love and relationships.

At first, my date was eager to meet and not particularly curious about what I wrote.

It hinted that he couldn’t care less about my blogging and more about my, uh, other talents.

Or.

He might have expected, as men from my culture are wont to do, that I am one of those who primarily write about rainbows and unicorns. You know, stuff that doesn’t offend anyone and being very…

--

--

Yana Bostongirl
ILLUMINATION

I'm a unique blend of cultures from West & South Africa, South Asia & North America| Substack: Yana's World🦋https://yanabostongirl.substack.com/| Come say hi!