My Dead Husband Mooned Me

Why observing death anniversaries doesn’t need to be somber

Danell teNyenhuis Black
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 22, 2021

--

Photo by Wil Stewart on Unsplash

April 20th marked five years since my husband Patrick left for his early morning bike ride and never returned home. I try to write something each year to talk about my changes in perspective. This year I am adding some random thoughts and memories.

When Patrick died, strangers reached out to me to tell me how he touched their lives. Some of them have continued to share stories. I’m happy that he had such a positive impact on people.

I took the day off, as I usually do. Patrick wouldn’t want us to be sad all day, so we try to spend the day with loved ones and remember him.

I remember the moment I first saw him. I was working at Prandini Physical Therapy and a cousin of the boss was starting work that day. I prayed that this hot guy walking into the building was the new employee. My prayers were answered.

Sierra and I started planning what we would do to remember him on Monday night. First up, My Cousin Vinny, one of our…

--

--