My Destiny Is My Fault

Michael Patanella
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 20, 2021

--

https://www.gettyimages.com/detail/photo/man-with-a-lantern-in-the-fog-royalty-free-image/1276562915?adppopup=true

Destiny is often in our hands. It is an effect of the choices we make, and the solutions we find, as we move throughout our lives, day by day. It is a hard truth that can often lead to misdirected negative emotions and feelings. Once we can find our paths to an acceptance of this fact about destiny, it is then the chance for us to choose to right fork in the road.

Accepting our destiny as our own creation can take two very different paths. We may choose a negative source as the power behind our acceptance. In ways like embracing self blame and self loathing. However that does not have to be the path. We can instead choose the different path. The one that helps us further our acceptance, and look into, the real story of the destiny we live. We can learn from our mistakes, instead of self blaming. And it isn’t always easy.

This whole idea, comes to my thought process, because I have come to be mindful of the fact that sometimes I find myself playing back the tape in my mind over and over again. Reflecting back to my very worst of times, where addiction and mental illness fueled the toxicity in which I was living with.

I had to handle my problems in a way that was honest, healthy, and responsible. But it took a long time to take that journey, down a path that was not just best for me, but best for many people around me too. Because with all my mistakes…

--

--

Michael Patanella
ILLUMINATION

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com