My Favorite Places to Visit in Tokyo

Scott Kinkade
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 8, 2020

--

From simple food to Tokyo Tower, here are the sites I love to hit up.

Photo by author

I’ve been to Tokyo three times, so I’ve naturally built up a list of must-see places that appeal to me. Here they are!

7/11

Sounds crazy, right? But 7/11’s in Japan are on a whole other level in terms of food offerings. You can get delicious bento meals for only a few bucks, and they’ll heat them up for you as a courtesy. This is actually my favorite place to get food from in Tokyo.

Photo by author. This is an example of the great food you can get from 7/11 in Tokyo.

Shosen Book Tower

This is a fantastic multi-story book store in the heart of Akihabara.

Photo by author

Each floor has a different theme. For example, one floor might be dedicated to military books, one might be all about magazines, etc. FYI watch out for the hentai floor — it will make you turn absolutely red. You could spend hours in here seeing what all they have to offer (and I highly recommend you do so!).

Yodobashi Akiba

--

--

Scott Kinkade
ILLUMINATION

Author of science fiction and fantasy novels who deals with Asperger’s. Travelholic. Speaks Japanese.