My First Time on Rostrum

A Journey to public speaking

Zeeshan Abid
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJun 10, 2023

--

Photo by Zeeshan Abid

Speaking in front of people was something that always fascinated me but I never dared to do it in my school and college life. When I went to university in 2016, one day on my way to parking, I saw a gathering where all the societies of the university were present with their stalls and were introducing students to their societies and the activities they used to perform. After reading out the large banners posted behind every stall I went to the Media Club stall because in their poster they mentioned that they teach speaking to students. I was not satisfied and then I went to The Debating Club UAF. One of them was the President of that club, who guided me with great passion and great confidence and asked me to join the next week’s meeting with a 2-minute debate.

To make this dream come true, I after coming home, started preparing the first debate that I was going to deliver at the next meeting of The Debating Club. I wrote and prepared my speech by keeping all the strategies in my mind that my senior told me in the training. Yet, despite of all my preparations, I could not sleep because I was so anxious and had self-doubts. My mind was tied up with so many Ifs, and one of the most fear-causing “IF” wasWhat if I forgot?”. But somehow I managed to gather my courage and decided to show up.

The next day I went to University and followed the regular schedule of my classes. The level of my stress was increasing with each passing moment, and then came one of the toughest lectures of my life: because that was the last one before 1:00 PM the meeting time. I can remember that I was there in the class physically but mentally, I was not there as I was so engaged in the speech. If you ask me; “what that lecture was about?” my answer will be: “I don’t know!!” What I knew was repeating the words I had to speak on the rostrum. I only remember getting back there for one moment when my friend poked me with his elbow and I heard my name for attendance. After responding with “Yes Sir, I am present”. I started repeating the same words and my heart was beating like the heart of a hummingbird.

The lecture was over, I got out of the class and stood there for a brief moment with my mind full of questions, What should I do now?. Should I attend the meeting today or I should leave?”. But, what about the dream to become a debater? What about speaking in front of many people?” All these questions started digging up my mind and found a single answer and that was “I should go”. I closed my eyes took a deep breath and started walking toward the meeting room. When I made it there my senior asked me about my preparations. I answered: “yes sir, I am fully prepared”. He wished me luck. After two speakers my name was announced. I stood up, and on my way to the rostrum, I received so many best wishes and I did not realize when the distance to the rostrum was over.

At the rostrum, I maintained my posture as I was told, took permission, and started speaking. What I felt there while speaking was something exceptional, an emotion I had never felt before. Everyone was listening to me and I saw deep smiles on their faces. When I finished; they clapped for me, a lot. I heard the phrase, “Well-done boy”. The seed of becoming a public speaker was sown successfully. I came back to my place I was so satisfied like I had achieved something very big. At the end of the meeting, everyone greeted me with good words. My senior was very happy as he encouraged and motivated me so much.

I can never forget his words

“Mr. Zeeshan “Today you stand out from all the students of this university, you stood there on the rostrum and spoke and you achieved a lot”.

And thereafter, I represented my University at various platforms in Pakistan.

After passing out from university, I whenever get a chance to stand on the rostrum again, I feel so satisfied and blessed.

If the freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.

George Washington

--

--

Zeeshan Abid
ILLUMINATION

Educational Consultant | Admission officer | Blog writer | Student of Literature,