THINKING | SELF-IMPROVEMENT

My Genuine Thoughts on Policies Enacted to Fight the Pandemic in the Past 24 Hours

The best approach for maximizing our chances of survival is a contentious one

Aldric Chen
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMay 1, 2021

--

Photo by Stefan Spassov on Unsplash

Let me start with my home country.

Singapore, just 18 hours ago, has announced a new policy to bar entry for all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors with recent travel history to India. I missed the real-time telecast on television as I was working, so I revisited the news snippet on YouTube, uploaded by Channel News Asia.

Unsurprisingly, this news snippet has garnered “concerns” from the globalists, human rights folks, anti-racism protestors, and thumbs-up from others.

In brief, this is another one of those divisive policies enacted during the modern Pandemic era.

I clicked on and listened to another news snippet announced by the Ministerial task force on the same day. This time, I heard updates that one of Singapore’s main hospitals has had an outbreak and the immediate priority of the hospital is to contain the spread.

Contacts traced to the first detected case were sent for immediate testing. Their traces are fetched from SafeEntry Quick Response (QR) entry, and shops…

--

--

Aldric Chen
ILLUMINATION

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.