My Husband Thought The Tastykake Pies Made Him Sick.

Carole Olsen
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2024

--

It Was Much Worse

Photo by Marcelo Leal on Unsplash

About a month and a half ago, I was putting the finishing touches on my manuscript, getting it ready to submit to agents. I had coaxed my husband to go over to my daughter and son-in-law to have coffee.

Now I had the house to myself, peace and quiet to get the last of this task done. A few hours later, my husband, Eric, came through the door. After stopping at our kid’s house, he had the urge for some Tastykake pies, so he ate a couple on the way home. This wasn’t a normal occurrence for my husband who usually is a Dunkin Donut fan.

He sat in his recliner and started watching TV. Within an hour, he started getting bad stomach pain. “I guess those Tastykakes weren’t any good,” Eric said, holding his stomach. At first, I thought he was just being a male, and I did an eye roll every time I passed him sitting in his recliner and moaning, but then he barely ate for the next day. The pain didn’t stop, and he had the runs.

I insisted we go to the emergency room, and he called in sick for his job as a school bus driver. I had just had MOH surgery on my left arm the week before to remove a big chunk of cancer, so I wasn’t in my best shape either; with my arm in a sling and him hardly able to walk, we were quite a sight at the ER.

--

--

Carole Olsen
ILLUMINATION

Author, Freelance Writer, Loves Animals and Selective Humans.