My last days with my cousin

A dying man made me feel special

Fayzen K.
ILLUMINATION
4 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Life is a journey, and death is an eventual destination — an inevitable truth that no being can shun. The glory of life is indebted to its evanescent ecstasy. But we often miss the opportunity to taste the latitude of its charm while trying to catch up with the pace of the world. Life is certainly not a bed of roses, but we can make it feel like one.

Family, relatives, and close friends are our most valuable assets. While God breathed life, they are the ones who make us alive. They are like flowers that embellish the garden of life, with their presence corresponding to fragrance. It is essential to nurture these relationships, for they only demand time and presence.

Story of my cousin

Let me share the heart-rending story of my cousin who died from cancer last year on May 17. Although I had experienced the loss of my family members and relatives before, this one just shook me and changed my whole perspective on life.

I still remember it was a gloomy day as the bright blue sky had gotten covered by the grey clouds. I was standing in the corridor of my department when I received a message from my mother, “Your cousin has been diagnosed with cancer. It is a Lymphoma.” The type of cancer that begins in cells of the lymph system, thus, rendering the immune system vulnerable to germs or infection, and it had originated in his lungs. I did not take it as a major concern, as my acquisitive mind was already consumed by thoughts of my future. I showed no frantic emotions as if I were a phlegmatic individual whose only concern was himself, or perhaps I had too much belief in the modern methods of medical treatment that it didn't bother me. To give him motivation, I typed a lengthy message full of encouraging words, and he replied, “Yes, I'll be fine. I'm only worried about my studies.”

He had just cleared his medical entrance exam and was now preparing for his new life. He had brought a new bag, the course books, and a dress for the White Coat Ceremony. Even cancer could not break his high spirits from attending the Ceremony.
Despite being 2 years younger than me, we shared an informal, friendly bond. After my University classes, I would visit him every day, and he would not let me leave until the clock struck 11. At that time, my only effort was to keep talking, and our giggles always relaxed his parents. If I skipped a day, I would receive a message from my Uncle to come and visit as my cousin would not talk to anyone else. We had that lovely bond, but I never knew that he held so much love for me, especially when I saw my contact number saved with an adorable nickname.
Oh God, I miss him so much.

During his chemotherapy treatment, I stayed in the hospital with him. After a few days, I visited and still remember that my cousin was watching the news with a stern look and told me that he had difficulty breathing. I left for home around 8 pm, and the next morning he had to be shifted to a ventilator. (I’m trying to make it as short as possible because it’s still difficult for me to recall the events without shedding tears.) He stayed on a ventilator for like a week and then the doctor stated that he could not survive. My Uncle asked me to come and bid him farewell first, as I was the only person he would confide in.

I still remember I just nodded and went with him. Each step that I took felt heavier than the previous one until I was half-bent as if someone had placed a heavy weight on my shoulders. I tried my best but could not clear my brain of all the memories that we shared in those 2 months until I broke down. Right after I crossed a left corner that had obstructed my view, I saw a huge cube-shaped room made of glass, and within those indestructible glass walls, there lay my feeble and vulnerable cousin who was unconscious. I shared everything, I said everything that I could, and he took all my secrets with him on the dawn of 17th May.

What my cousin taught me about life

My cousin proved himself as a great secret keeper and a great teacher. Even though his absence is a tremendous loss, I could have never realized this greatest lesson that I need to share with everybody:

  • Do not miss out on this chance to spend time with your family.
  • Do not lose yourself in the race to achieve. Life is more than just making money.
  • There’s somebody out there who admires you, who adores you even if you are not aware of it.
  • Cherish the presence of your loved ones around you, as they won’t stay forever.
  • Health is God’s greatest blessing.
  • Even the darkest hours bring the sweetest joy.

--

--

Fayzen K.
ILLUMINATION

A young, passionate and an ambitious boy. Writes for fun, to express idea and above all, to embark on a journey while making friends on the way.