DOING WHAT WORKS

My Less-is-Best Morning Routine

Step 1: Wake up naturally

Ann Rickert Leach
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2023

--

Image created by Ann Leach.

Step 2: Get dressed and go walking.

Step 3: Shower and get dressed.

Step 4: Cat care

Step 5: Start the washing machine.

Do what works for you.

Yes, this is actually how I start my day every day. It is what works for me.

I was asked what time I wake up naturally. It varies but most of the time between 5 AM and 7 AM.

Why do I wake up naturally so early? Because I do. I go to bed at a time that my body is getting enough sleep and so I wake up naturally.

What time do I go to bed? Between 9 PM and 11 PM.

Now that this has become my normal, I wonder why so many people choose to not get enough sleep. Why do we train our children to normalise not getting enough sleep once they start attending school or even daycare/preschool?

I have found the more physically active I am (walking 7500 steps or more daily), the less sleep I need and the better I sleep.

So if you’re going to take anything away from my morning routine, I suggest you take away finding what works for you. Start going to bed earlier and paying…

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach
ILLUMINATION

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner