My Lifelong Battle with Anxiety & My Food Fix

Talia Daneshrad
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJun 14, 2024

Learn how I use science-backed snacks to combat anxiety and find everyday calm.

Taken by me: My “Anti-Anxiety” Snack Pack
Taken by me: My “Anti-Anxiety” Snack Pack

Most people experience anxiety to some degree. While some have mild forms, others suffer more intensely.

I’ve dealt with anxiety my entire life. It was particularly severe when I was younger, but I’ve learned ways to manage it over time.

One significant discovery I’ve made is the impact of diet on my anxiety levels.

When I consume more processed foods and alcohol — typically during weekends — my anxiety skyrockets. I struggle to think clearly, and my bad habits tend to flare up.

The Link Between Food and Anxiety

It might seem obvious, but eating well plays a crucial role in calming my anxiety. When I feel my anxiety spiraling, I remind myself that if I eat a good, nutritious meal, I will start to feel better.

I’m not sure if it’s partly a placebo effect or if the food itself is making a difference, but when I’m anxious, especially on a Sunday, I focus on foods that research has shown to help with anxiety and brain health.

There is strong evidence that certain foods can genuinely help reduce anxiety.

When my anxiety peaks, especially on a Sunday, I focus on foods known for their calming properties.

Sometimes, it’s a full meal, like a salmon bowl with avocado and cucumbers. Other times, I turn to my “anti-anxiety snack pack” (pictured above).

Nutritional Psychology: Why We Eat (or Don’t) When Stressed

When I’m stressed, my appetite often disappears. I know I need to eat to function properly, but convincing myself can be challenging, even as a food lover.

This lack of appetite during stress has roots in nutritional psychology, a field that examines how our food choices affect our mental health and emotions.

When stressed, our body enters “fight or flight” mode, diverting resources to essential survival functions. This response reduces blood flow to the digestive system, making us less interested in eating.

While this mechanism was vital for our ancestors facing physical threats, it can hinder our relatively safe lives.

Photo by Christoffer Engström on Unsplash

My Go-To Anti-Anxiety Snacks

When stress and anxiety strike, I turn to small, nutrient-dense snacks. These snacks are easier to digest and absorb, even when the body is under stress.

  1. Dark Chocolate Quinoa Crisps:
  • Scientific Insight: Dark chocolate contains tryptophan, an amino acid that the body converts into mood-boosting neurotransmitters like serotonin in the brain [1].
  • Everyday Benefit: Dark chocolate’s polyphenols help reduce brain inflammation and cell death. This means that the less inflamed our brains are, the lower our stress levels are.

2. Pumpkin Seeds:

  • Scientific Insight: Pumpkin seeds are rich in potassium and zinc. In our bodies, it was found that individuals who have lower potassium and magnesium levels had higher amounts of cortisol, the stress hormone [2].
  • Everyday Benefit: Studies have shown that eating pumpkin seeds can help reduce stress and anxiety. So, finding ways to increase the amount of potassium and magnesium in your diet, whether through pumpkin seeds or other foods, can help your anxiety levels.

3. Brazilian Nuts:

  • Scientific Insight: Brazilian nuts are a good source of selenium. They help reduce inflammation in our body, which is usually heightened when someone has anxiety or stress [3].
  • Everyday Benefit: I just learned the benefits of Brazilian nuts; I usually eat them first thing in the morning. Adding a few nuts to your everyday routine can help improve your mood.
Photo by Leonardo de Assis on Unsplash

4. Oranges

  • Scientific Insight: Oranges are high in Vitamin C. Vitamin C can help reduce the cortisol or stress levels in your body. Eating oranges regularly can also help cell regeneration in the brain [4].
  • Everyday Benefit: The taste and vitamin content of oranges can boost serotonin levels, making you feel happier.

5. Cucumbers

  • Scientific Insight: Cucumbers contain vitamins B1, B5, and B7. They contain a flavonol (a naturally occurring compound in fruits and vegetables) with anti-inflammatory properties. This flavonol is good for your brain because it helps neurons, the cells in your brain, connect better and communicate more effectively [5].
  • Everyday Benefit: Cucumbers can calm the nervous system, helping relieve anxiety and stress.

6. Feta Cheese

  • Scientific Insight: Feta cheese supports mental health and is Rich in B vitamins and magnesium.
  • Everyday Benefit: Including feta in your diet can help reduce anxiety.

7. Tomatoes

  • Scientific Insight: Tomatoes contain lycopene, an antioxidant that can help calm the amygdala, the part of the brain that controls anxiety [6].
  • Everyday Benefit: Eating tomatoes can promote calmness and restorative sleep.
Photo by Pylz Works on Unsplash

8. Popcorn

  • Scientific Insight: Popcorn is a whole grain that contains fiber and polyphenols. Polyphenols are antioxidants that help reduce oxidative stress and inflammation in the brain. Fiber helps regulate blood sugar levels, which can impact mood and anxiety levels.
  • Everyday Benefit: Popcorn can be a satisfying and healthy snack that helps stabilize blood sugar and reduce inflammation in the brain, contributing to better anxiety management. Plus, it’s a low-calorie snack that you can enjoy guilt-free.

Authors note: I’m always looking for advice and feedback on what you find interesting/what you like about these articles. Please feel free to comment or ask any questions.

If you want me to create a personalized snack pack for you, please reach out! Happy to help however I can.

Sources:

[1] Crichton-Stuart, C. (2024, January 16). What are some foods to ease anxiety? https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/322652

[2] Torres, S. J., Nowson, C. A., & Worsley, A. (2008). Dietary electrolytes are related to mood. British Journal of Nutrition, 100(5), 1038–1045. https://doi.org/10.1017/s0007114508959201

[3] Donma, M., & Donma, O. (2016). Promising link between selenium and peroxisome proliferator activated receptor gamma in the treatment protocols of obesity as well as depression. Medical Hypotheses, 89, 79–83. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mehy.2016.02.008

[4] Moritz, B., Schmitz, A. E., Rodrigues, A. L. S., Dafre, A. L., & Cunha, M. P. (2020). The role of vitamin C in stress-related disorders. the Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry, 85, 108459. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jnutbio.2020.108459

[5] A cucumber a day keeps the doctor away. (n.d.). https://www.thejoint.com/illinois/chicago/old-town-chicago-21004/230001-cucumber-day-keeps-doctor-away

[6] Systems, K. R. (n.d.). 5 Foods that help you Beat Stress and Anxiety. https://www.kent.co.in/blog/foods-that-help-you-beat-stress-and-anxiety/

[7] Abe. (2020, June 5). 5 superfoods to prevent anxiety and chronic Illness — Rambam. Rambam. https://rambamfamilyhealth.org/news/5-superfoods-to-prevent-anxiety-and-chronic-illness/

--

--

Talia Daneshrad
ILLUMINATION

M.A. Food Studies || Early-stage entrepreneur || Learning about the link between our mental wellbeing and nutrition to improve our mental health