My Love Affair with Taco Bell

Paul Seo
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2020

"I wish someone looked at me the way I look at Taco Bell." — Unknown

Photo courtesy of tacobell.com

Going off to college is a rather formative experience. For many, it is the first time being away from home for an extended period of time. It tests your opinions and perspectives, while also pushes you to become more independent as a person. This was the case as I left for the University of Notre Dame in 2013.

One of the many things I loved about being an ND student was the dining options. I choose the most popular meal plan that gave 14 meal access a week to the all-you-can-eat dining hall. I could go into a detailed monologue about my appreciation of the huge variety of cuisines at such a convenience to me, but we can save those words for another day. Along with those slots though were a couple of hundred dollars per semester to use on various campus locations. Notre Dame had Starbuck’s, Subway, Burger King, Smash Burger, etc, but late at night, there was only one place that stayed open: Taco Bell.

Whether it was a stressful night of intense studying or a trip out on the town with friends, you could always rely on “Taco Bae” to have its doors welcoming you. If I was looking to be economic, I would indulge in the Spicy Potato Soft Taco and a Steak Quesarito (Volcano, when they still had it). If it was a momentous occasion deserving celebration, the call was a Steak Quesadilla and Steak Chalupa Supreme. Also, nothing complimented all of these better than those witty Fire Sauce packets to dip into.

However, my deep-rooted admiration of “T-Bae” lies not just in the perfectly seasoned beef, melted cheese for the soul, or delicious blend of flavors at such reasonable prices. My residence hall was approximately a 7-minute walk away from the LaFortune Student Center, which hosted “TB”. Before embarking into the freezing cold winters of South Bend, IN, various members of my dorm’s section would gather in jackets & sweatpants and make the journey together. It could be raining, snowing, or sleeting, but there were always a few people willing to go with you. It is this community that made this fast-food establishment not just a place for grub, but home to friendship.

Taco Bell, thank you for always being there for my buddies and me. You were, are, and always will be “good to go”. This is my love affair.

--

--

Paul Seo
ILLUMINATION

“The best is yet to come.” ✞ | I sell alcohol for a living 🍷 | Slightly above average basketball player 🏀 | Loyal Irish fan 🍀 | Based in NY 🗽| IG: @seopaul