My Medium Earnings Increased 144.33% in February

But can it pay for my Starbucks order?

AdventureRaf
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by quan le on Unsplash

The first lesson that I learned to write online is that your talent does not equal your earnings. It all comes down to the niche and audience, I mean you can be a William Shakespeare singing opera. I think you get the point, right? Well, that was my situation for the first 2 months of writing on Medium.

I was speaking about Psychology to an audience that liked History. Now I am left thinking: it makes sense.

It all makes sense, so do my earnings.

When I was writing about Psychology, it was like chopping down trees in a forest amid climate change. Yikes. In December, I earned $3.34; who’s going to pay the membership now?

Maybe I have a few quarters off your wallet, I told my mom.

January

In January, things took a slight shift. I was writing as my life depended on it; I was burned out, tired, and stressed. I couldn’t type without having a tantrum.

It was bad. Everything I was doing was horrible. My writing had the scent of old yogurt. Nope, no bueno. Here’s my trash, I yelled.

Yet, the people came. Just maybe, I had hosted a flea market and earned $17.64.

--

--

AdventureRaf
ILLUMINATION

If you cannot find me, I am probably writing. Usually, I write about fiction, love, and self-improvement. Oh, love!