My Mentor who influenced me to become a Writer, Melvyn Brown

The Writer of Stories and the Storyteller

Warren Brown
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 10, 2021

--

Image provided by the author, Warren Brown

My Dad, my mentor influenced me to walk the path of the writer. As a child, I remember watching my Dad writing, at his desk, from the evening, after he returned from work, till late at night.

My Dad, Melvyn Brown always enjoyed writing and publishing. Although he worked as a Librarian, since he was nineteen, he was a Storyteller in Schools and in the radio show (All India Radio)in Calcutta, India for several years. People still come up to my father and tell him that they remember him from the time he would tell them stories. The senior students of the Schools in Calcutta loved to wait for “Uncle Melvyn, the Storyteller”, to arrive for their Creative English class, when he would weave stories, to keep them enthralled for an hour.

In most cases, Dad would create fairytales with Wizards, Goblins, Kings, Queens, Knights, Princes, Princesses, and magic Dragons without preparation. He would do all the voices, the sounds and he would set the scene for each story with its unique characters, heroes, and heroines.

My Dad, Melvyn Brown, also completed the “Storython”, which was sponsored by “The Statesman”, a local newspaper in Calcutta, in 1968. The Storython was non-stop storytelling for over three hours…

--

--