My path to suicide attempt

Aga Byrczek
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Image by Daniel Reche from Pixabay

WARNING: in this article, I will share my path towards the suicide attempt. The aim is to make this topic more visible and support the people who are struggling. I am happy I am still alive.

It was the 16th of October 2022 when I finally did it, I tried to end my life, and commit suicide. I cannot say I wanted to die, I was a person who loved life and lived it fully through many years. I didn´t want to die, but I had to put an end to my suffering, and what I had at that moment of my life was not a life. It was a struggle, suffering, being on the stand and a huge dose of frustration that I was not able to do the simplest things, like living a home or eating.

My path towards a suicide attempt started in January of that year. It was when I first time verbalized that I was thinking about suicide, it was when I did my research, and surprisingly I found out that I owned the perfect mixture of medicine which could make a job, and it was the first time I ended up in the psychiatric emergency room. It has happened from one day to the other when I simply gave up. My body could not stop crying, I had in myself a huge dose of anger which I was expressing by punching the mattress, I started with walls, but it was too painful, and I was doing many other ¨strange¨ things. Once, my neighbours came, but of course, I did not open the door. I didn´t want to see anyone. Very often I was…

--

--

Aga Byrczek
ILLUMINATION

I write about social issues, mental health, fat phobia and micro aggressions. My mission is to raise awareness by writing ✊🏼 www.agabyrczek.eu