My Son’s Graduation

Nathan White
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 28, 2022

--

Brock and I pre-party (photo by Lynette White)

Last night, we hosted my son’s high school graduation BBQ at our house.

His friends and his family all came together to wish him well. It was cool to see all the people come together but it was even cooler to watch Brock be a gracious young man. He engaged with everyone, from each corner of his life, and made the rounds as a host. He did a nice job balancing family, friends, and his parents’ friends. I’m sure he would have much rather just hung out with his buddies the whole time but he didn’t.

The fact he got money obviously helps at these types of functions.

I loved the time of life he is entering and my hope for him is that he does, too.

I printed out an article I liked, 3-Word Pieces of Advice for Graduates, that I thought was appropriate. However, I recognize my role and my relationship with my son is changing. I am moving from a leadership role to an advisory role.

And I’m okay with that because it is the appropriate order of development. However, it has made me a little nostalgic this week. Brock still has a lot of stories left to be written but we are at the end of the very first, very long chapter of his life story.

And I have been filled with questions this week: did I teach him enough? Did I discipline him enough? Does he have all that he needs for success? Do I have a…

--

--

Nathan White
ILLUMINATION

A high school English teacher/football coach with a Jeeping problem. https://coachwhite17.com/