My Sunday

Mood Palette
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2024

Hi, beautiful people,

Do you know what happened today? It’s Sunday, and I woke up without an alarm, feeling fresh and well-rested.

I wasn’t worried about missing any deadlines because yesterday was a productive day. So, I woke up with a smile, knowing I had the whole day to do nothing or anything — no pressure.

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

I took my time getting ready, packed my handbag with the basics, and made myself a delicious breakfast with coffee. I even watched a couple of episodes of a series I’ve been into lately.

By early afternoon, I felt ready to step out. So, with a smile, I left the building and went to this museum I’ve wanted to visit for a couple of months. The best part? I wasn’t in any rush. No deadlines, no one waiting on me. I wandered through the exhibits at my own pace, diving into the details I found interesting and skipping over the ones that didn’t grab me.

After I’d had my fill of art and history, I realized I was hungry. I found a cute café, ordered some food and coffee, and just sat there, enjoying the moment. And because no day out is complete without dessert, I treated myself to something sweet from a bakery nearby. After a leisurely stroll around the marketplace, I made my way back home.

So, why am I telling you all this? Today, I spent the day with myself, and it felt amazing.

I’m not someone who doesn’t have responsibilities or bills to pay — I work hard, just like everyone else. But lately, I’ve started doing this new thing where I take the time to do things for myself, without worrying about what’s next. I’m learning to be patient, to slow down, and to enjoy my own company without waiting for someone else to join me.

Finding time for yourself isn’t about neglecting your responsibilities; it’s about recognizing that you deserve moments of peace and joy amidst the chaos of everyday life. It’s about allowing yourself to be fully present in the moment and to appreciate your own company.

I hope you find some time for yourself too.

--

--