Poetry | Music

My Ukulele Always Makes Me Smile

An Acrostic Poem

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2020

--

We could all use a little more music in our lives.

When I was in high school, I played the trombone and the bassoon, both very large and heavy instruments. I remember how long the walk home was when I brought them home to practice.

A few years ago, I decided I wanted music in my life again, so I decided to learn how to play the ukulele.

It’s a Hawaiian instrument, with roots in the Portuguese braguinha, and it’s four strings make it one of the easiest instruments to learn how to play.

It brings joy to our many campfire singalongs at our summer cabin.

U nconsciously we reach for
K indness as the
U niverse is teaching us
L essons that bring us to the
E dge of our allowance.
L ove and support to
E veryone.

Thanks, Geetika Sethi and Agnes Laurens for passing the baton and tagging me in this musical instrument challenge.

Violin Strength

Strumming the Blues Away

--

--

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION

I write stories, and poetry, and create sketches inspired by my dreams for the world. https://wordsinmotion.substack.com/